Sabbath Stirrings

I read a line in a book yesterday that struck a chord in my soul.  Here is what it said:  “There was an ache that from time to time seemed to fall entirely through me like misting rain.”

I’ve felt this kind of ache.  More often than not, the focus has been on something temporal, something that would fade and go away.  I am a double-minded person.  The more I’ve thought about this line, however, the more I can’t help wondering what would happen to my spiritual life if this ache were directed Godward.  Misting rain is pervasive.  It makes wet everything it touches.  When I think of misting rain, I think of fog, which often accompanies misting rain.  Fog envelops.  Surrounds.  Makes one feel as if they are in a world all their own.  Something that “falls entirely through me” touches every part of my core.  It isn’t confined to my outsides, to what others see.  What if that which was “falling through me” was the Spirit of God touching every part of my sin-sick soul and renewing it with the freshness that only a rain from heaven can bring?

Today, I am asking God to give me an ache for Him that will allow His Spirit to fall entirely through me.  But instead of “from time to time”, I want it to be  “all the time.”  I want to be thoroughly drenched inside and out.  I want the fog of God’s presence to surround and envelop and cause me to be in a world set apart with Him.

What about you this morning?  Today is the day we will celebrate once again the resurrection of our Savior from the dead.  Will we feast at His table?  Will His arm be round our heads?  Will His presence and hearing His words spoken through the voice of His shepherds be our joy?  Or will we be “partying” instead?  Living completely satisfied with the temporal, the stuff that fades and goes away.  Will we attempt to be satisfied with the things that will never satisfy our souls, no matter how hard we try to make them do so?

Years ago, Dallas Holm sang a song.  My favorite line in that song was this:  “What will you do with me?”  The “me” was Christ speaking.  So today, I challenge each of you.  What will you do with Christ today?  Will He renew you inside and out, satisfying you in the deepest parts of your soul?  James 4:8 says “Draw near to Him and He will draw near to you.  Wash your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded.”  Let’s “wash and purify” together.  Let’s draw near to Him in order that He can fill us inside and out with His presence.  Let’s sit at His table, recline at His side, and rejoice in His words to our thirsty souls.  Let’s let HIM be what  quenches the deepest longings of our hearts.  And let’s not be satisfied until we are completely drenched.

This entry was posted in Beauty, Faith, Good Things, Living Determinedly and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment